Meinig School students honored at annual diversity awards banquet

Haley Antoine and Josue Santana emceeing at the 2019 DPE banquet
Haley Antoine and Josue Santana emcee the 2019 DPE banquet.

On Thursday, May 2, 2019, Cornell’s Diversity Programs in Engineering (DPE) recognized outstanding undergraduate and graduate students, student organizations, faculty and staff at its annual awards banquet. Award recipients were selected via a nomination process that provided qualitative examples of their deeds and efforts within the Engineering community and/or across Cornell. Among the recipients were the following Meinig School affiliates:

Ph.D. students:

  • Chelsea Stephens: Graduate Student of the Year Award   
  • Monet Roberts: Zellman Warhaft Commitment to Diversity Graduate Student Award
  • Carolyn Chlebek: Ephrahim Garcia Graduate Student Excellence in Mentoring Award
  • Rose Buchmann: Robert Mozia Graduate Student Distinguished Service Award
  • Tibra Wheeler: Graduate Student Excellence in Leadership Award

Undergraduate students:

  • Haley Antoine: Honorable Mention, Undergraduate Excellence in Leadership Award
  • Samantha Pitts: Diversity Scholar Award

The event was also emceed by Meinig School students Haley Antoine and Josue Santana.

The Diversity Programs in Engineering (DPE) office is responsible for fostering a vision of diversity appreciation reflective of the College of Engineering's strategic plan, which enables members from all backgrounds and cultures to thrive and succeed at Cornell University.

For more info: Diversity Programs in Engineering; Photographs of the 2019 DPE Awards Banquet

Other Articles of Interest