Meet the 2020 NSF Fellows

The Meinig School of Biomedical Engineering proudly congratulates Ph.D. students Serafina Lopez (Bonassar lab), Maggie Pacheco (Andarawis-Puri lab), Cara Robertus (Putnam lab), and Ruben Trujillo (Putnam lab), who each recently won a 2020 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP). The NSF GRFP offers three years of stipend support during a 5-year fellowship tenure to applicants selected through a national competition.

Three undergraduate students, Emily Jiang, Emma Stowe, and Ai Mochida, also received NSF fellowships.

GRFP supports the graduate study of U.S. citizens, nationals and permanent residents attaining research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education at institutions located in the United States. Applicants are selected through the NSF peer review process. Awardees represent a wide range of scientific disciplines and come from all states, as well as the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and territories. The group of awardees is diverse For general information about the program, visit NSF's GRFP website.

Other Articles of Interest