Meet the 2019 NSF Fellows

Five Meinig School Ph.D. students win national award.

The Meinig School of Biomedical Engineering proudly congratulates Ph.D. students Garrett Beeghly (Fischbach Lab), Christine Harper (Hernandez Lab), Daniella Fodera (Andarawis-Puri Lab), Yuyan Wang (Paszek Lab), and Ben Albert (Butcher Lab), who each recently won a 2019 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP). The NSF GRFP offers 3 years of stipend support during a 5-year fellowship tenure to applicants selected through a national competition.

Congratulations also go to students receiving honorable mentions this year: Taylor Oeschger (Erickson Lab) and David McKellar (Cosgrove, De Vlaminck Labs).

GRFP supports the graduate study of U.S. citizens, nationals and permanent residents attaining research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education at institutions located in the United States. Applicants are selected through the NSF peer review process. Awardees represent a wide range of scientific disciplines and come from all states, as well as the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and territories. The group of awardees is diverse For general information about the program, visit NSF's GRFP website.

Other Articles of Interest