Meet the 2018 NSF Fellows

Eight Meinig School Ph.D. students and one undergraduate senior win national award.

The Meinig School of Biomedical Engineering proudly congratulates Ph.D. students Jason Chang (Andarawis-Puri Lab), Monideepa Chatterjee (Andarawis-Puri Lab), Carolyn Chlebek (van der Meulen Lab), Joseph Long (Lammerding Lab), Brittany Schutrum (Fischbach Lab), Regan Stephenson (Singh Lab), Tibra Wheeler (Singh Lab), and Matt Whitman (Fischbach Lab), as well as one undergraduate senior, Joseph Kim (Cosgrove Lab), who each recently won a 2018 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP). The NSF GRFP offers 3 years of stipend support during a 5-year fellowship tenure to applicants selected through a national competition. 

Congratulations also go to students receiving honorable mentions this year: Patrick Muljadi (Andarawis-Puri Lab), Gaetano Scuderi (Butcher lab), Rose Buchmann (Erickson Lab), Jeremy Keys (Lammerding Lab), and Hania Koziol (Putnam Lab).

GRFP supports the graduate study of U.S. citizens, nationals and permanent residents attaining research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education at institutions located in the United States. Applicants are selected through the NSF peer review process. Awardees represent a wide range of scientific disciplines and come from all states, as well as the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and territories. The group of awardees is diverse. For general information about the program, visit NSF's GRFP website.

Other Articles of Interest