Meinig School students honored with 2021 annual diversity awards

Each year Cornell’s Diversity Programs in Engineering (DPE) office recognizes outstanding undergraduate and graduate students, student organizations, faculty and staff through its Annual Awards. Additionally, with support from industry partners, DPE presents corporate awards and scholarships to students.

Congratulations to the following Meinig School students recognized with awards in 2021:

Commitment to Diversity Awards

•    Tibra Wheeler, Zellman Warhaft Graduate Student Awardee
•    Zeinab Mohamed, Zellman Warhaft Graduate Student Awardee 
•    Caroline Waksmunksi '21, Zellman Warhaft Undergraduate Student Awardee 

Mentorship Awards

•    Jon Albo CU Empower Outstanding Peer Mentor Awardee
•    Jason (Chang) Marvin, Ephrahim Garcia Graduate Excellence in Mentoring Awardee
•    Emily Laurilliard, Ephrahim Garcia Graduate Excellence in Mentoring Awardee

Honorable Mention for Ephrahim Garcia Graduate Excellence in Mentoring:

•    Jon Albo
•    Garrett Beeghly
•    Monideepa Chatterjee
•    Taylor Oeschger

Leadership and Service Awards

•    Ana Elhom ’21, Undergraduate Excellence in Leadership Award 

Corporate Awards & Scholarships

•    Samantha Pitts ’21, Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) scholarship
•    Edith Chen ’23, Diversity Scholar Award

Cornell’s Diversity Programs in Engineering (DPE) office is responsible for fostering a vision of diversity appreciation reflective of the College of Engineering's strategic plan, which enables members from all backgrounds and cultures to thrive and succeed at Cornell University. Award recipients were selected via a nomination process that provided qualitative examples of their deeds and efforts within the Engineering community and/or across Cornell.

For more info: Diversity Programs in Engineering; DPE Annual Awards 2021 – Full list of awards 

Other Articles of Interest